Welcome to The Vault

We have 3 free months of Sirius satellite radio on our car. I wasn’t too thrilled, radio has been dead to me for a number of years now as many of you know. Constipated play lists have done me in. I hate that programming for the lowest common denominator – FM stations that play only the most recognizable songs from only the most recognizable acts. And the first one that brings up The Current gets a trout slap – it’s programmed for twenty-to-thirty-something females. Do I look anything like that demographic? So there’s been no radio for me for a good seven or eight years. And it’s made a number of old classic albums bearable again. You can understand again what made certain works classic if you don’t hear them every freaking day.

But I tried “The Vault”, Sirius’ classic rock station that plays deep cuts. As first I was not impressed. I heard a few artists that always get played on KQRS and thought, this isn’t that great. Plus it really didn’t seem to rock. And yesterday the dam broke. Last night while in the car I heard Pink Floyd’s “Free Four”. If that song has been played on a commercial radio station in the last 25 years I would eat my shorts. And today I heard Thin Lizzy’s “Chinatown”, Genesis’ “The Lamia”, and Warren Zevon’s “Roland the Headless Thompson Gunner”. Sweet mother of god, now this is what classic rock radio should be. I may not renew when the end of the three free is up but glory hallelujah I have seen the light!

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to The Vault

  1. Anonymous says:

    Radio Radio
    “And the first one that brings up The Current gets a trout slap – it’s programmed for twenty-to-thirty-something females. Do I look anything like that demographic? So there’s been no radio for me for a good seven or eight years. And it’s made a number of old classic albums bearable again…”
    Yeah, I can’t quite put my finger on it – but I feel like I should like the Current more than I do…Maybe I’m just older and more crotchety now, but there’s a certain sense of it being too hip for the room…As in there’s no way I can keep up with all these new bands & artists without being a 22 year old narcissist or maybe if I was dating Mary Lucia or something…And once the hip-hop stuff starts – I can’t dial flip fast enough….I do try not to miss the Sound Opinions show that’s syndicated out of Chicago on Sunday nights because those guys cover a fairly wide swath of music…Lately I’m back to KFAI in the afternoons…The reception is crappy but they play some really sweet old blues & soul stuff…XM & Sirius: would love to have it but can’t afford it right now…Also: Sunday nights I usually fall asleep to Little Steven’s Underground Gararge on KQ….Wish it was on earlier though because again, I’m older and more crochety these days…There’s a 2-disc CD out which I’m mulling over picking up of Bob Dylan’s Old Time Radio Hour from Sirius…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Kids these days
    Yeah, them durn kids and their crazy new “music.” Why can’t they play more stuff from when I was in high school? Tho to be fair I have my limit with the Current as well. There comes an age when you listen to the new and hip stuff and say “I remember 20 years ago when so and so was new and hip and did the exact same thing.” I think the Current, to it’s credit, has a different sound depending on who is working. Personally I like it when Bill DeVille is on. He is almost as old as Jerjo and does a good job of mixing in some great old stuff with the new stuff them kids in baggy pants are listening to. He doesn’t always have a regular shift it seems but last time I heard the Flying Burrito Brothers I said “Bill must be on today.” Sure enough…
    -Jambo

Leave a Reply

