TAUT-SKINNED DRUMS THROB WITH RISING INTENSITY…ROARING FLAMES CHALLENGE THE ANGRY TINTS OF THE EVE

http://www.elfquest.com/gallery/OnlineComics3.html

I showed this to the Crazy Cat Lady a couple days ago and now I’ll post it here. I don’t know how many of you geeks remember Elfquest but I sure do. It was cheesy goodness back in the day, and now it looks even cheesier. But though the concept was a tad corny it was original, same with the art. And once the original quest took off it was pretty much an adrenaline rush for the first five volumes. I never followed its many incarnations after that, by then I was married and it was well past time to put away such childish things. From what fellow geeks have admitted, it did lose steam after those initial 5 volumes.

Anyway I had totally forgotten about it for over 20 years. Once in a while I would see a title while in a sf store but it barely passed my subconscious. But having it free online tempts me. Will it still hold up? There’s a kid inside of me that wonders…

I’ve been battling the flu since last weekend. Just about over it now but it has obviously taken a toll on my posting, writing, everything but sitting numbly in front of the TV watching DVDs of PotC and Torchwood. Must have more Torchwood… But I am back, slightly befuddled, but pounding down copious amounts of Diet Coke in hopes that within caffeine lies the pathway to clarity.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TAUT-SKINNED DRUMS THROB WITH RISING INTENSITY…ROARING FLAMES CHALLENGE THE ANGRY TINTS OF THE EVE

  1. Anonymous says:

    Elf Quest vs. Weird World
    Never read much Elf Quest though I was familiar with it…I recall Marvel’s 1 (or was it two?) issue(s) of a similarly-themed series (I hesitate to say rip-off – but I know Elf Quest came first) in Marvel Premiere entitled “Weird World.” Mike Ploog art with the usual tight script by Doug Moench…I seem to recall photos too in some fan publication of Elf Quest co-creator Wendi Pini dressed up as Red Sonja at some comic convention somewhere as well…Rich M.

Leave a Reply

