The JD Salingers of Rock

A few music notes today.

First of all, Rush appeared on the Colbert Report last night, the first time they’ve performed on American TV in over thirty years. For a Rush fan like me, it was great. For someone like Jambo, who drops into a fetal position at the mention of “By-Tor and the Snow Dog” it was half an hour of unmitigated hell. But it was great. I swear Peart’s kit took up half the studio and was glad to see that Alex had his full effects board there, complete with all the action figures and toy dinosaurs. And Stephen reading the lyrics for “By-Tor” off the teleprompter was a moment I will always cherish.

Why is it I am the only one that remembers The Angels/Angel City? I know of maybe two other people that know of this band. If I am lucky they remember the insipid cover by Great White (who had better taste in covers than they did writing their own material) of “Face the Day”. The Angels were an Australian band that had a long run from the late 70s to the early 90s and recently reunited. Think of it as a more punk AC/DC, with a little more theatrics and brains.

I first stumbled on them when on impulse I picked up a copy of the Two Minute Warning in the early 80s. It was ballsy, smart, louder-than-hell, and downright apocalyptic. At the time, they called themselves Angel City in the the US to not be confused with the pseudo-glam band Angel. And that didn’t help fans like me tracking down their albums. Several years ago, after giving up ever finding another release by these guys I found a CD of Face to Face. Then Two Minute Warning. I went to Napster and found a few other tracks. Another friend had one CD. Gradually, with my CDs, the borrowed one, and more than a few “found” MP3s, I pieced together a wicked 2 CD compilation. There are some legal CDs floating out there but the prices are astronomical. I might as well wait until I win the lottery and can afford to travel to Australia. There are live albums out there, maybe even a DVD. And I kill for all of it. And I’d especially kill for a DVD of this show:

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The JD Salingers of Rock

  1. Anonymous says:

    Rush
    I’ll have to find a clip online just to see how embarrassing it really is to have Jerjo’s taste in music.

Leave a Reply

