Nothing will die. The stream flows, the wind blows, the cloud fleets, the heart beats.

I recently read that Roger Ebert has a category of movies called The Gandhi Movie. The definition is quite simple: any movie that is undeniably good or great, but there is absolutely no reason to ever see it again. For Ebert of course, Gandhi is the perfect example. For me, that would be The Elephant Man (the last line of which is the subject above). It was a perfect film in terms of acting, cinematography, writing, direction, you name it. And I absolutely never need to revisit it. So my question is, what are your Gandhi movies and why?

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nothing will die. The stream flows, the wind blows, the cloud fleets, the heart beats.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Shindler’s List. Our answers do have to have Ben Kingsly in them, right? I’d be willing to see Sexy Beast again, tho. He was fantastic in that.
    – James

    • jeroljohnson says:

      To get off on an tangent, if you want Ben Kingsley I would recommend Trassiberian, a Hitchcockian thriller set in Russia. Kingsley’s part is supporting but crucial. Any way, it was solid thriller with some actual unpredictable twists. I could see it again.
      Se7en is another one that I could do without seeing again, even though it was a superior film.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hmm. I don’t know that I can think of a movie that I consider “great” that I wouldn’t want to see again. There are movies that I think are great that I simply haven’t had the opportunity to see again, but I certainly would if it arose.
    Hmm. How about “Crash,” the old, good one, not the overly emotional shclock fest Hollywood felt too guilty to avoid giving awards too.
    Or maybe “Existenze” though I’d definitly see that again if I were able. “Requiem for a Dream,” if only because it took three shots at getting through the whole thing in the first place.
    Jake

    • Anonymous says:

      Jake, I think Schindler’s List is really the poster boy of this category. A well-made important film about a really depressing subject matter that you just do not want to ever subject yourself to again. Or one of those historical dramas like Passage to India, or The English Patient. Actually, the I hated the later of those two but it did win Best Picture.

Leave a Reply

