Oh Sweet Irony

I rarely look at the ads that Livejournal generates on this blog but today it caught my eye: Tate Publishing. Maybe it is because of the number of “writing” tags I use but who knows. Anyway, I decided to spend a quick 5 minutes checking out my advertiser. After all, maybe they were a legit publisher I had never heard of. And of course, it all went downhill from there.

It didn’t take too much effort to find that Tate is another POD masquerading themselves as the real deal. Get this, you have to pay them $4000 up front to be published. But Tate claims this is a “co-investment.” Oh give me a fucking break. The rule is simple – all money flows to the author. Anything else is a con game. But surely they are based in Manhattan with all the big boys so after you spend your four large your book will be shopped to all the big chains? Um no, they’re based in Oklahoma. But surely that doesn’t matter for a “family publisher”? Yes, it does and stop calling me Shirley. If you want to sell copies of your book, your bidness should be done in the Big Apple. You can (and should) write from anywhere you please but in most cases the bidness better be done on that big island that sold for 60 guilders. There are a few small legit publishers and agents scattered around the US but if you can make it in NYC you can make it anywhere. Forget about Tulsa.

So thank you Livejournal for linking me up with a real succubus of an advertiser.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

