Meat Me in North Dakota

As I have noted before, we’ve got one helluva a meat locker in this small town. It’s owned and operated by a gentleman that grew up just down the block from me. Get a steak or burger here and you’ll never eat big city homogenized pink slime beef/pork again. My brother in Minneapolis always has to stock up whenever he’s here, or we make a trip to the cities. 

Now, this house used to have an old stand-up Coop freezer. The thing was nearly my age and a perpetual frost machine. This spring it died a sudden death while we were out of town, flooding the utility room with water and costing us at least a hundred bucks in lost food. A couple weeks ago we bought a new freezer and Tuesday, my birthday, it was delivered.

Carjo stocked up on the things we couldn’t fit into the small freezer section of our refrigerator. Let’s just say I have a decent pizza selection. But yesterday I went to the meat locker. The order was:

  • ten lbs. of burger
  • 4 four-packs of smoked pork chops
  • 4 four-packs of boneless chops
  • 4 pound roast for BBQ
  • 2 whole fryers
  • 2 packs of thick-cut smoked bacon
  • beef liver (Carjo has some perverse love of this stuff)

So yeah, we got our carnivore on. It’s not like buying a whole side of beef like my dad used to but out here in the West, lean red meat is not an unhealthy choice as long as you use some moderation. As the Lutherans say, practice moderation in all things. I think I’ll be grilling some moderation this weekend.  

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meat Me in North Dakota

  1. suevee says:

    Do you know if any of this meat is grass fed? Free range? Stuff like that? Just curious really. You’ve indicated it’s lean. Nice.

  2. suevee says:

    Can you tell me more about this meat? Is it grass fed? Grain fed? Grass fed and grain finished? Free range? Humanely killed? Just curious really. I feel bad that I have to eat animals, but I do to stay healthy. Want to support humane practices.

Leave a Reply

