A Sense of Accomplishment

A Sense of Accomplishment

I feel a vague sense of accomplishment today. No, there’s nothing vague about it. I got a fair amount done.

It’s nice spring weather again, the temperature is in the mid-60s. There’s a pile of dirt and sod in the front yard that is the remnant of the giant snow pile created the one time our driveway got plowed. The driver of the plow did a terrible job and took out a chunk of the front lawn, then pushed the sod along with the snow up onto another part of the lawn. So today was the day to deal with that, and other outside stuff.

So first I took a rake and pulled out all of the sod, rocks, and leaves from that spot. Then I raked the front lawn for the second time this spring. I got up a little steam by this time. I cut off all the fall plants, trimmed down the box elder mess in the back yard, pulled mulch from the flower bed on the east side of the house, put cat litter down on the oil spill by the back steps, pulled all the garbage out of the east hedge, shoveled up everything into a garbage bag and then went over the driveway and sidewalk with the leaf blower. Whew.

I watched the last few innings of the Twins game and caught my breath. Then I battled the shade in my man cave that had lost its grip and won the battle. I took out the stubborn brackets for the old blinds in our master bedroom and that cost me as much sweat as raking the front lawn. And now I’m done.

Now it’s a bottle of Bell’s Amber, a decent meal, and Game of Thrones. Tomorrow I chip away at a little more yard work and then back to the writing grindstone. I may not be as awesome as James Tiberius Kirk, but I think I did OK.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

