I Don’t Always Drink Beer…

I Don't Always Drink Beer...

..oh who the hell am I kidding. I always drink beer.

We had guests from MN this past weekend and a glorious time was had by all. My wife received some nice girly hostess gifts. But I got something more substantial.

There is a young man we will refer to here as Pharm Doc. I like to think that I was somewhat instrumental in setting him down the path to drinking micro brews. Pharm Doc’s sister was one of our guests and about a week before they all showed up I whined that my fabled beer fridge was nearly empty and I needed a resupply. Yeah, I can buy beer in ND but selection is limited. A Surly product hasn’t crossed my lips for a long while. So Pharm Doc offered to restock me from his private collection. Oh lord, did he ever. The display above shows the variety and depth of his depravity. I’m so damn proud. Here’s the full listing:

Bells Two Hearted Ale
Bells Hopslam Ale
Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale
Sierra Nevada Hoptimum Imperial IPA
Surly Furious
Surly Overrated! West Coast Style IPA
Surly SeVIIn Ale (2013)
Surly Darkness Russian Imperial Stout (2012)
Founders Curmudgeon Ale
Founders Devil Dancer Triple IPA
Founders Breakfast Stout
Deschuttes Fresh Squeezed IPA
Alesmith Speedway Stout
Stone Imperial Russian Stout
Fulton Worthy Adversary Russian Imperial Stout
Great Lakes Alchemy Hour Double IPA
Great Lakes Lake Erie Monster Imperial IPA
Dark Horse Double Crooked Tree IPA
Left Hand Milk Stout Nitro

I drank the single bottle of the Crooked Tree IPA and it was indeed worthy of its legend. Now keep in mind, while I only have single bottles of the 750s, there are several of these varieties I got many bottles (or cans of). In addition, Sassy brought me practically a pallet of Surly Furious and Bell’s Two Hearted Ale. I feel like John Scalzi on a day when the ARCs come in.

Here’s some close-ups for those who are interested in that sort of thing. So a big hearty, malty, hoppy thank you to Pharm Doc, and one to Sassy as well. Stay thirsty my friends.

P1000848

P1000846P1000844

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Don’t Always Drink Beer…

  1. Nice haul!! Go Minnesota beer!

  2. jeroljohnson says:

    Yes, the Pharm Doc really outshined his instructor on this haul. Too bad there’s no one in this one horse town I can split a 750 with. I am left with the herculean task of drinking those by my lonesome. I think I’m up for the challenge.

    Love yer blog by the way.

Leave a Reply

