I Can Un-Build It

I Can Un-Build It

The basement in this house used to be partially finished. As I have posted before, this basement is prone to water issues and has seen floods up to six inches deep. And we’re not near any bodies of water. So even though all the carpeting is stripped out, there’s still plenty that was left in place that has been subjected to mold, rot, and perpetual damp. I keep a dehumidifier running 24/7 from spring through fall but something more drastic had to be done.

So a few weeks ago I began phase one by taking down the false ceiling in what my brother and I used to call “the ping-pong room”. That was because my brother’s ping pong table had been set up there some time in the early 70s and was there until last fall. I will not speak of its end other than to say a bonfire was involved. But I need to take all the paneling off the wall of every room downstairs and that begins by taking down all the false ceilings. And now I have the ceilings in three rooms down and just the landing for the stairs left.

Today I decided to see how difficult it would be to take off the door frames and paneling. I got my trusty crowbar and a chisel, then set to work in the old rec room (please explain to your children what a rec room is). Sonofagun, but with enough oomph I was able to pry it off a couple nails at a time. An investigation of the lower inside of a panel by Carjo and myself confirmed our suspicions. It was somewhat rotten.

I talked to my cousin, the Singing Farmer, yesterday. He’s going to have his annual fall bonfire (and now you know the ping-pong table’s fate) again so we’ve got a place to dispose of all the paneling, cardboard ceiling tiles, and trim/frames/etc. It’s going to be a lot of work to tear all this down but I should have it done by the end of next month at the least.

This winter, when it’s really dry, a friend from Fargo is going to come out here with a concrete saw and we’ll set up sump pumps and drainage, something my mother should have had done a long time ago. I’ll paint the cinder walls with dry lock and we should finally have the dry basement my dad dreamed of.

So yes, I can un-build that.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

