A Vexing Issue

A Vexing Issue

Here’s one for those who are more adequate carpenters than me. I’m trying to take out this old paneling downstairs. The frame for the false ceiling is holding it in at the top. In the photo above, this is the view looking up to where the ceiling tiles where. The paneling that has to go is to the right. Now, see the board running along the right side of the photo, against the paneling? That has to go to pull the panels out. But it is firmly nailed to the joists above and the other parts of the frame. I tried getting under with a crow bar but I can’t get an angle at it that works. I think my dad attached it with the notion that it would survive 150 years. Except at 50 years, the panels are rotten at the bottom from mold and flooding. So if anyone reading this has any idea of how to pry this loose, let me know.

P1000967

 

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Vexing Issue

  1. Noreen says:

    I showed this to my boss, who works in construction defect law (and has some construction expertise), and he looked at it for 30 seconds and suggested this. Get a Dremel tool–it’s a power tool with a little cutting disk. Cut the panels right under that beam and tear them out. There will be a little bit of panel left underneath the beam; you can just leave it there.

  2. jeroljohnson says:

    Ah, this means I can now purchase another power tool. SWEET!

  3. curt says:

    If the false ceiling frame is staying – what Noreen says will work. Or you can get an oscillating tool which is a little heavier duty – so you can find other things to do with it. I use mine all the time. If you are taking the false ceiling frame down. A sawsall with a metal or combo blade will cut the nails and it’ll be easy to remove.

  4. jeroljohnson says:

    Thanks Curt. I just ordered a small saw from Amazon and it should be here in a couple days. For now, the false ceiling frame will stay. I think my dad did a pretty good job with these frames and we’ll need them when we put new ceilings in this basement. Everything in this basement is getting stripped down to the 2x4s and frames. I have a huge plywood bookcase that is attached to a wall and it’s going to take a sledgehammer to knock that loose. Oh my aching back.

Leave a Reply

