Veteran’s Day Remembered But That’s Not All

Veteran's Day Remembered But That's Not All

Yes, today was Veterans Day and I would be remiss to not note it. As I have noted on this blog before, my uncles and father-in-law were WWII vets that all served proudly and their service is remembered, never to be forgotten. But Veteran’s Day was originally Armistice Day, the day we remembered the end of the War to End All Wars, World War I, my grandfather’s war. The war it seems we have forgotten.

My grandfather served as an ambulance driver. I have a stiff bandolier of his that is still full of shells and a primitive Luger that’s missing its magazine. I also have the flag he used to fly from a pole in front of his house. It’s a behemoth of a flag that I used to hang from our balcony on the 4th of July. If I had a proper place to fly it I would have set it to sail today to let Grandpa know I haven’t forgotten. And I will never forget his service, the pride he took in it, and the message he gave when we asked about it. “I don’t want you boys to know what men can do to other men.” It’s a message that I think humanity has yet to grasp, especially by the old men who still so casually send young men forward to die.

Rest in peace, Grandpa. You earned it.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Veteran’s Day Remembered But That’s Not All

  1. You might enjoy this poem about families and absence, “While He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB

Leave a Reply

