I’m Dreaming of a White Thanksgiving

I'm Dreaming of a White Thanksgiving

I don’t think the snow we got last week is going away anytime soon. Yesterday it got just above 30 but the ten day forecast shows nothing in the future that warm. But it does forecast more snow next week. In addition, the general consensus among weather people is that this winter will be COLDER than normal. I think those guys outside of town that are selling BBQ sandwiches out an army tent are rethinking their long term strategy. And the young cats run out and then run back in. Sneakers took a one minute stroll on the deck and then demanded back in. He’s under the bed here in the man cave, not far from a heat register. That boy has got winter figured out.

I’m not too threatened by a cold winter. This house is a little thin in the walls but we keep pretty cozy. More blankets, more sweatshirts and sweaters, thicker socks; we’re North Dakota natives and we’ve known the drill since childhood. It still amuses me to walk into the post office or gas station where you’ll see non-natives bundled up for Snowmageddon and little old ladies walk by them with coats unzipped and not a stocking cap in sight. Nothing like a seventy year old woman making a strapping thirty something have to turn in his man card.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Dreaming of a White Thanksgiving

  1. Count me as not fit for the cold. We’ve in the 40s at night and I’m telling anyone who cares to listen that “it’s Dakota cold!”

  2. KW says:

    I’m not a fan of cold weather, but what really gets to me is that bone-chilling wind. Sneakers has the right idea.

Leave a Reply

