Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart

Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart

The new beer fridge has been officially stocked after a trip to Bismarck. I was hoping to stock up on Bell’s Hopslam this time. It’s usually pretty easy in Bismarck because I swear, I used to be the only one in western North Dakota that drank the stuff. Not anymore.

I struck up a conversation with one of the Captain Jack’s managers as we were hauling my haul to the Mercury Land Yacht (TM). He said they had gotten well over a hundred cases and at the rate it was going it wasn’t going to last much longer. Bells brews this stuff in limited batches; they understand supply and demand all too well. So once Bismarck runs out of Hopslam, they are out of Hopslam. I told him I used to be able to find it even in March and he shook his head. “Not anymore, tastes have changed in this town.”

I also got two of my favorite dark beers, Deschutes Black Butte Porter and their Obsidian Stout. I noticed that they had one of my Twins Cities faves stocked as well, the stellar line from Lucid. I bought a couple sixes of the Lucid Foto IPA and one four of Lucid Duce, the oak-aged red ale. And last but always in my heart, a couple sixes of Two-Hearted Ale. It used to be a gamble buying this because what they stocked was usually a couple months old. It must be flying off the shelves now because going by the brew dates, that Two-Hearted came off the truck no more than a couple weeks ago.

The night before we left I ran into Laughing Sun Brewery with one of the growlers my sister-in-law brought at Christmas. I had it filled with their tremendous tongue-bruiser Feast Like a Sultan IPA. For all its ridiculous stats, this is a very well balanced IPA and I had no problems polishing off the growler in a couple days.

So I am stocked now for well into spring. I’m only good for about three or four beers a week so this should last me for some time. I’ll drink the Hopslam first because it doesn’t keep well and enjoy the rest at my leisure. Oak-aged beer, bitter beer, beer so dark it’s opaque. This is what will get me through this ridiculous winter. Skol.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart

  1. That Obsidian Stout is both Obsidian and Stout. Like 10W30. I’m not able to handle more than a sip or two. Lots of flavor, however.

Leave a Reply

