One of the Few Times I’ll Take the High Road

One of the Few Times I'll Take the High Road

Fred Phelps is dead. I feel like being snarky, vicious, callous, and mean. Instead I’ll take let one of my betters take the lead.

George Takei, one of my favorite people to follow on Facebook and who has far more reason to hate Phelps than me, said this. “Today, Mr. Phelps may have learned that God, in fact, hates no one. Vicious and hate-filled as he was, may his soul find the kind of peace through death that was so plainly elusive during his life.”

I said some nasty things on Metafilter and then in a private section of PE, got it out of my system. But we should be more like George. To engage in dancing and pissing on this wretch’s grave is cathartic but with someone this vile, we’re just sinking to his level. Let’s go on, leave him no legacy other than we have won. Don’t picket his pathetic funeral. Instead embrace the ones we love and support the rights of everyone that Fred hated. That is what I am going to try to do.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

