The Best thing About Human Beings is That They Stack so Neatly.

We’ve finally succumbed to peer and societal pressure. We’ve begun to watch House of Cards on Netflix.

“Money is the Mc-mansion in Sarasota that starts falling apart after 10 years. Power is the old stone building that stands for centuries. I cannot respect someone who doesn’t see the difference.” How the hell can you not be fascinated by a character that spins out something like that. Frank Underwood is easily the most quotable character since Gregory House MD rode away on a motorcycle with Wilson.

I assume we’ve now done about 8 episodes in 36 hours and probably will stagger back for more very soon. It’s not perfect by any means but sweet mercy, it never fails to engage or entertain. I worked for a short time in a congressional district office and I’d hear stories from the DC HQ now and then. It was never up to this level of machination but the stress level and hours spent at work would make an Apple design team assume the fetal position. DC is indeed a crazy place. But what really makes this work is the complexity of the characters and how well the actors work that complexity. When you create a character, many writers stick to one or two notes to define them. To get your creations to be as truly complex as Frank and Claire Underwood takes a lot of work and I applaud the writers on this show for digging this deep. I don’t know if Frank goes under any profound change but I doubt if any epiphanies are in his future. But Claire appears to be on a journey of sorts and I wonder how that is going to affect their partnership. Anyway, we are locked in for the ride and anxious to see where it takes us. Don’t send me any spoilers. I can be as ruthless as Frank.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

