She Calls it the EPDC

She Calls it the EPDC

Note the can of Diet Coke in this photo of my desk. When I was a cubicle slave, my consumption of Diet Coke or Coke Zero was often six cans a day. My wife refers to it as the EPDC, “Ever Present Diet Coke” because during the daytime I always have a can of diet beverage within reach. It irritates her sometimes because over the last thirty years the EPDC has been fumbled by me, tipped over by cats, or just plain gotten in her way more times than she can count. She claims to be far more careful with her servings of Coca Cola, which she refers to as “sacred brown life-giving fluid”. OK, maybe she is a little bit more careful than me. OK, a lot more careful than me.

I’ve been drinking Diet Coke ever since it came out. I remember sitting at a church board meeting in the mid 80s and one of the older gentlemen on the board said at the end of the meeting, “I would like to have it entered into the minutes that this is the first time in his tenure on the board that I have NOT seen Jerol with a can of pop in his hand.” I don’t know what was wrong with me that day.

Coke Zero has been a regular ever since the late 00s. I switch back and forth all the time. Generally I like a Diet Coke when I get up but when I get focused on writing I prefer a Coke Zero. All of this is just mindless routine with no real solid reasoning behind it. To me, Coke Zero is a bit flatter and Diet Coke is more of a thirst quencher but whatever, it’s all keeping me hydrated and awake.

I’ve cut myself down to three cans a day. Now I drink about 20 oz. of water from a big metal water bottle I bought in Yellowstone. During my initial recovery period I drank a lot of water, then switched back to diet sodas and now am back to my old habits, 3 cans then switch to water. The beautiful thing about my Yellowstone bottle is it keeps the water cold. The worst thing about it is the condensations floods my desk.

So that’s what I drink and why. We best not get started on the topic of beer or we’ll be here all day.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

