Not a Griswold Christmas

image

Unlike past Thanksgiving weekends I did not augment our lights outside. I strung orange and purple light in October for Halloween but by this time I’ve usually added strands of purple and white. Then I set up the lit pink flamingo in the flower bed by the front door. There’s been none of that this year.

The main reason is that it is too damn cold for me to be out there, dragging my left foot through the snow while struggling with unwieldy strings of lights. I’ve been out several times to shovel snow and that’s the extent of my endurance. I put in another session of shoveling this afternoon just to get the Truckster out of the garage and it wasn’t pleasant. My arms and shoulders feel like I’ve been doing a weight lifting program and my bad lower extremity just hurts and throbs. Fuck it.

The weather forecast shows me a brief window of warm temperatures this weekend and no snow for the next couple weeks. I’ll shovel off the front walk on Wednesday and then I should be able to rest my aching body for a while. Who knows what the rest of the winter will bring but it’s certainly off to an impressive start.

Last night, at about one-thirty, one of the young cats took down the Christmas tree in the living room. The excitement never ends here. I’m letting my wife tend to it.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

