Cast in an Insufficient Light

SONY DSC

I’ve been reading quite a bit on my iPad lately. I blame my wife. She loves dim, ambient light and carps if I turn on a lamp in the evening. I think this David Sedaris article was written especially for her (http://www.harpersbazaar.com/culture/a1660/david-sedaris-mood-lighting-0314/). So I stick my nose in my tablet instead of a book. I’ve churned through some short stories, Steven Erikson’s massive Dust of Dreams, and a couple quick Charlie Stross books. I tried reading graphic novels on it but the lettering is too small.

It’s a great efficient way to read. No overhead light is necessary and a tap on the Kindle or iBook apps brings up the last page I was on. But I still miss the feel of a book in my hand. Somehow you don’t sink as deep into a world when reading off a tablet or at least that’s how it feels to me. Maybe I’m just a romantic when it comes to being a bibliophile. Or maybe I’m just old and set in my ways. But a few days ago I picked up The Widow’s House, the next in the Dagger and the Coin series and it just felt…right. Sorry tablet, get off my lawn.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

