And So We Move On

My mother-in-law passed away on the morning of the eighth. Yesterday we drove to Bismarck and emptied out her space in the nursing home. She had a lot of clothes crammed into there, a TV, a Gary Miller print, and assorted brick-a-brack. We packed up what we thought was worthy and garbage-bagged the rest. It was hot yesterday and by the time we had the Family Truckster loaded we were both a little over-drawn.

This morning I moved it all into the house, creating a little stack in the laundry room. So odd that a person’s life becomes reduced to a short stack of clothes and tchotchkes, an art print and a borrowed TV. But the memories are strong. I won’t eulogize my mother-in-law here, at least not for a while. Her formal obituary has yet to be released. I’ve also made a practice of not giving out the actual names of family and friends in this space. In addition, my wife is still processing all of this. Her relationship with her mother was complex to say the least. So you’ll have to wait for my reflections on her life.

My MiL will be cremated so the funeral won’t be until mid-August or later. My sister-in-law will stay with us for a week and we’ll make one last trip down to Bismarck for a final farewell. It’s been a long taxing experience for all of us and while her death is nothing anyone wants to celebrate, we’ll be relieved when it’s all over.  We’ll be glad to move on.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

