Turnabout is Fair Play

steveballmershands

Just because I’ve picked on Apple several times in this blog does not mean its counterpart is every going to get away unscathed. I own a laptop that has Windows 8 and there is no curse in Elvish, Entish, or the tongues of Men for this treachery. Whoever came up with this insanity (see photo above) ought to be tarred and feathered on a monthly basis just as a warning to anyone else in Redmond who’s getting funny ideas.

Windows 10 is about to debut in 8 days and I’m crossing my fingers that it’s one of those good Microsoft releases that seems to follow every bad one. I hope. I also hope that they have the brains to add back Windows Media Center as part of the package. Making the one really nice piece of media software you have as part of a premium package that no one wants is just all kinds of wrong. Get a bucket of fresh tar and a molting goose for the corporate drone that come up with that one.

Last, but not least, there’s Office 365. I’d rather use Open Office if I had my druthers but too much of my writing and all of my spreadsheet work requires using Office products. So I’m stuck paying for the same goddamn piece of shite software year after year. More tar, more feathers, you know the drill.

All in all, it can be quite aggravating that we are all such slave to these devices, their software, their design flaws and buggy releases. Apple screws up. Google screws up. Microsoft screws up. And don’t hold your breath but here’s another inconsequential update that wants you to restart your device. The trouble is all these wondrous toys are all essential for modern living. I’d rather take the convenience than live in a single-wide trailer out on the farm with only a transistor radio. So I bear these abominations and vexations, determined to make the best of it. But I don’t have to like it.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

