Although I Sort Feel Like Pee Wee Herman Riding It

P1010407

Remember how I said I couldn’t ride bike with my bad ankle. Well, it’s gotten better and I mentioned that to a neighbor of mine. We’ll call him the Grey Rocker. Grey Rocker loves to ride and has a few bicycles in his collection. The other day he said he was going to drop by an old Schwinn for me to use, something to ease me back into riding. And sure enough this appeared in my driveway a few hours later.

It’s a 1952 Schwinn and it’s a smooth ride despite its weight. I’m going to swap out the seat with a modern gel-padded one because one trip around the block made my ass ache. That’s not a pleasant sensation at my age. But it was good to pedal again, to move through the neighborhood as something faster than my dismal walking speed. Carjo is going to give it a try as well. So here’s to going to the garage in the morning, keying in the code, and saying, “Good Morning!”

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

