Anne L Retentive

You keep using that word

When I used to work at the publishing company I would often walk by a cube where an editor had hung a sign above her name: Anne L Retentive. That sort of mindset was encouraged there. Well, think about it. In work that requires perfection and accuracy being anal retentive or obsessive was not a bug, it was a desired feature.

I’ll never be a perfectionist though I am fairly persnickety about getting things right. I can often be a slob but all things considered, I like a clean environment to work and live in, an order to everything. My wife, who actually has obsessive compulsive disorder, can be that way as well. My ADHD-spawned procrastination can get the best of me in this regard. Right now I should just whip the basement into shape but I keep putting it off. I know that someday the dam will burst and I’ll get it straightened up. Until then I’m putting it off.

I get fussy about weird things. My CD and album racks are arranged alphabetically except for a few chosen genres. Oh, and Led Zeppelin has to be ahead of the “A” artists. I get a sense of satisfaction when I’ve emptied the dishwasher and all the glasses are back into their proper places. I straighten the cat food cans in a particular order. I tell myself it’s so I can make sure that they get a proper variety.

Then there’s my computer habits. I got in the habit of opening the “my computer” file to see how much space was left in my hard drive and external drives. You should keep those at or above fifteen percent capacity. But I take it a step further. I like to see the amount available to be either an even number or divisible by five. And then, I prefer that the last digit of the amount available in my C drive matches the last digit in my external hard drive. Or to have both of them end in numbers divisible by five. That’s just a little fucked up.

Now it could be that I’ve gotten this way from being around a person with OCD for many many years. Or it could be that because so many aspects of our life is out of control that I fixate on the things I can control. The later could be closer to the truth. But either way, I embrace this eccentricity. For the most part it’s harmless so why not let my freak flag fly. If it reaches the point where I’m trying to regulate the word count on these posts then I’ll know it has gone too far. You’ll know because this blog will start looking real tidy.

 

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anne L Retentive

  1. I like your theory that we become overwhelmed by big things around us that are seemingly out of control that we try to balance that by micro-managing the little things that we can. I guess it’s all about balance. I could do with a bit more micro-managing.

  2. jeroljohnson says:

    I could probably do with a little more balance!

Leave a Reply

