Well, That Sucked

peyton-manning-first-kiss-papa-john-super-bowl-50-lead

I deleted a post on Facebook last night. I was bitching about the Super Bowl and I think I was just too much of a curmudgeon. In retrospect I realize that I was in a bad mood that entire game and I let it leak out on social media. I’m still in a bad mood but I’ll rein it in.

This game was an atrocity though. I had not watched a professional football game for an entire year and I guess I expected to see some excellence, some fire, and maybe a little precision. Instead I was treated to a crude defensive battle, a lot of commercials that did very little to amuse or entertain, and the milquetoast pop of Coldplay. I’m not the only one. There’s been a lot of opinions in the media on what a dud the game was, the lackluster commercials, and of course what a lame-ass band Coldplay is. Here’s Slate discussing the game:

http://www.slate.com/articles/sports/sports_nut/2016/02/why_you_hated_the_super_bowl_this_year.html

And then there’s Grandpa Quarterback and Corporate Pitchman/Slut Peyton Manning. I know people that worship this shill or at least think he’s really a decent guy. I don’t know him personally and despite the fact that I’ve heard he’s kind of a hyper-competitive jerk who values his corporate sponsors more than anything, I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt. But at the end of the game last night America’s quarterback did not disappoint. Who was the first person to get his attention? A sportsmanship handshake with Cam Newton? A kiss for his wife and kids? Nope, he bussed the odious Papa John Schnatter, one of his biggest sponsors.

Yep, I’m done with football for an entire year and glad of it.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

