Cersei Lannister Always Pays Her Debts

P1000711

Or, The Guitar Lesson Never Ends

My task of teaching myself the guitar got really sabotaged by breaking my ankle. I lost my calluses and couldn’t play the damn thing for nearly a year. I’ve had only marginal luck getting back in the groove. My fingertips hurt and my muscles don’t seem to be able to develop any memory. I suspect the guitar is getting back at me for naming her Cersei. But as Cersei’s little brother always says, a Lannister always pays their debts.

The hardest part for me is switching from one chord to another. I just can’t seem to get fast enough to hit that. I’ve looked at various instructional videos on the topic (and there’s a lot of them). One suggested a couple chords that are very close to each other and how to practice it. So I just fumbled at this for a while, at least until my un-calloused fingers would complain. Progress was…slow. But that and another chord progression were sounding better.

The other day I dragged Cersei into the living room for a few minutes of playing before the evening news. I limbered up on my simple scales and then tried my two chords. 1-2-3-4 switch, 1-2-3-4 switch. It was seamless. My wife looked over at me and said, “that actually sounded like a song.” I said that technically it’s what’s under the verses for America’s “A Horse With No Name” and I’d have to learn more for the chorus but yeah, I’m finally getting somewhere.

In another hour or so I’m due to practice. Cersei will no doubt be a bitch and betray me. She knows I’m on the verge of getting her to reveal all her secrets. And it is such a sweet song that she will sing.

 

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

