Stages

 

I took one for the team last night. My wife had DVRed a PBS special of Josh Groban performing songs from his Stages album. Which is all show tunes. You know how I feel about show tunes and musical theater. I’m a baby boomer who cut his teeth on rock music and there’s just something about show tunes that makes my skin crawl and blood boil. I am certain that the performers are talented and passionate, their devotion to their art is unquestioned, but 99 times out of 100 I’d prefer to see Keith Richards stagger around a stage than listen to a single measure of musical theater.

Anyway she asked me to watch it with her so I bit back on my rockist tendencies and made my way through it. One thing about DVR is you can ff through all those pledge drive spots which brought it down to one hour. Josh is a polished entertainer and the production was solid in every aspect: lighting, stage craft, musicianship, etc. My wife loved it. She loves Josh Groban and though she’s not too big on show tunes she was all but shedding tears at some of the songs. I just wasn’t into it because I’m a knuckle-dragging troglodyte.

Carjo kept the concert on our DVR. My guess is she’ll return to this a few times. She rarely plays music around the house but once she gets her hooks into something it gets repeated. Today she’s in her office, typing recipes while cable news blares in the background. I’m in my man cave, blaring something of a different sort of music.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

