Down With The Funk

homer-simpson-milhouse-billboard-620

I’ve been in sort of a funk the last few weeks. It’s sorta breaking but I find it frustrating. There’s been a problem with finances, my ankle got injured, back went out picking up a cat, the Family Truckster is malfunctioning yet again, and on and on. I am usually an optimistic and somewhat cheerful person but with my ADHD I have a hard time functioning when overwhelmed. And I was definitely being overwhelmed.

Back when I was a corporate warrior I used to use a Franklin planner to keep on top of things. I’m not the most organized person something that forces me to keep my eye on the ball is always beneficial. I’ve always had it in the back of my mind to get something to replace it but never built up the inertia.

I use Evernote on my iPhone to keep a list for the grocery store and such but it occurred to me the other day that I could use that for a planner as well. I’ve got the app on my iPad as well, which is almost the size of one of those leather-bound planners. So the other day I created my list of things I want to get done every day. And it worked. Now I can expand it to help stem the whelming wave.

So I feel a little more optimistic today. I’m plugging away on a work project. At some point I’ll be able to take a break and get some writing done. And before supper I’ll hit the treadmill and then noodle some chords on the guitar. And bit by bit, I get the funk out.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

