Your Frustration. Our Fault.

Microsoft_frustration_fault

I’ve posted before about my issues with the audio dropping out on my desktop PC. It’s highly annoying and though I have tried numerous fixes, nothing seems to work. There are a couple culprits behind this calamity.

  1. Microsoft. Windows 10 has this little built-in process called “System and Compressed Memory” that supposedly enhances how RAM handles things. The trouble is that it causes the CPU to spike. I’ve watched it happen on the Task Manager and it is an ugly sight to behold. Despite my trying numerous fixes and scouring the Interwebs for a solution, nothing disables this.
  2. Dell. This model was never tested for Windows 10 and Dell has no regard for anyone with an Inspiron this old. Here’s the thing. It’s not that old, even in terms of technology. So of course they have no fix as well.
  3. Myself. I could have kept this system at Windows 7 and not had this issue. There’s a little itch I get to try every new piece of tech and part of my switching to W10 was that. Of course it behooves everyone to make that switch because older versions of Window will not be supported and you just don’t want that to happen.

So I have resigned myself to never getting this issue resolved. The laptop is now set up to drive the music in the man cave (unlike the desktop, it took to W10 like the proverbial waterfowl in the proverbial liquid). It’s a pain but it at least allows me to crank tunes while I’m working. One of these days I’ll be flush enough to replace both my and Carjo’s desktop PCs but until then, it’s techno-triage. And I’m getting a little too good at that for my tastes…

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

