I Can’t Be Satisfied

super-computer-nerd

A bit of a rant today. I’m working on a massive spreadsheet. I started working on it with my laptop but it was kind of…wonky. Pasting items into cells was a little clumsy for some reason. Old man hands on a cramped keyboard might have been part of the problem. So once again I brought up the old computer, knowing that with its big ergonomic keyboard and big monitor it might work better. And it did.

Last night I woke up at around 2:30 and man, I was wide awake (time again for another sleep disorder post?). This happens to me way too often but rather than waste an hour or two just tossing and turning I got up and turned on the computer. I didn’t play any music so as not to wake my wife so for once I could hear any device noise in the office. And that computer was making some disturbing ones. There’s a noise that a hard drive makes when it’s worn to shreds, a particular groan/grind that I know all too well. So I spent my wide awake time backing up all the important files and eventually went back to bed.

About an hour ago I was hard at work and I noticed that some Windows functions weren’t working. It was getting impossible to access the Start menu for one thing. I can take a hint. I again backed up my work onto a flash drive and disconnected that traitorous sonofabitch as quickly as possible. It’s still in the man cave but it’ll be back downstairs before sundown. I am back on the laptop. If the keyboard gives me too much trouble I’ll just have to cowboy up and bear with it. There’s no doubt I dodged a bullet. Now I’ll just have to cross my fingers that this somewhat old laptop hangs in there.

Here’s some Muddy to cleanse your palate.

 

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

