Is Anybody Out There?

zucker-devil

Post-election I am taking a break from all social media.It’s a volatile atmosphere out there and I’m just a little upset by the results of the last election. Also, I’m sick of all these platforms.

There are friends and family I can only reach by text message. There are friends and family I can only reach by Facebook. There are friends and family I can only reach by Twitter. There are friends and family I can only reach by email. You see where I’m going with this?

One of the most annoying aspects of the digital age is the splintering of the way we communicate. I’ve got a couple friends that read this blog but the majority have never looked at it more than a couple times. Or there are some that have no idea I’m on Twitter. Or Facebook. And don’t even get me started on that piece of shit LinkedIn. My own wife has to be persuaded to check her email, preferring only the Facebook experience. Then there’s web forums where I interact with a whole ‘nother bunch of folks that rarely stray from those bounds. There’s no unification here, no way to keep in touch other that keep your fingers on a dozen different dials. And then there’s a handful of Luddites in my circles who can’t be contacted electronically at all.

I’m out here in West Bumfuck, North Dakota, isolated from the majority of my friends and family. So keeping in touch is a little bit important to us. And it has become a bit maddening to me how much damn work it has become.

So maybe now that we have an authoritarian as a President-elect maybe we’ll all be forced to one platform. Oh wait, that pencil-dick only uses Twitter.

 

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is Anybody Out There?

  1. Brad Combs says:

    But his handlers took his Twitter access away.

    I am here, Jerol

  2. jeroljohnson says:

    Yep, you are one of the two. One of my office wives from West checks in here now and then as well.

    My guess is at some point he’ll get his Twitter back in some form. And then, with his thin skin, it’s going to be an ugly spectacle.

  3. I know what u mean, I’m trying not to go on social media anymore than necessary. If I read one more BS comment from another right wing moron, I’m going to lose it.

  4. jeroljohnson says:

    Chelsea, if this were FB I would like your comment, then unlike it so I could like it again.

Leave a Reply

