I Only Do This Because I Love You

p1010583

We are in day two of a winter storm system. It spins churns on the radar like a blue tropical storm and it is not moving off like most storms do. We did not get as much snow as some parts of North Dakota but we do have high winds and that means drifting. That’s not good for small dogs with stick legs.

The storm started yesterday. The cats, who up until now were still insistent on going out, were somewhat pissed off. Luna and Sansa made a couple of aborted trips out but they were very short and they came back to the door directly, wet and indignant. Today they’ve all found their day beds and are locked into that winter stay-inside-gain-weight mode.

The dogs are another matter. When snow began to accumulate they were¬†apoplectic and anxious. Pippin stands maybe just under a foot or so but he’s got little Pomeranian legs. Not exactly bred for snow drifts. Merry, our Chihuahua from California, is even less so. So yesterday afternoon I went out and shoveled off the deck, the steps, and then carved out a couple paths into the yard. That got both dogs off the deck to do their business. But by late last night it was drifting in again, filling in the paths I carved out and burying the steps. By this morning the entire deck was covered by a foot of fresh blown snow.

I let Pippin out right quick this morning because he was up and ready to go as soon as I got up. He couldn’t navigate through the drift but he moved down along the shelter of the sliding glass door where it was only an inch or two deep, then relieved himself with a heroic thirty second pee. Then I got dressed and went outside.

The snow by our back steps had drifted up about knee level. I pushed the snow off the deck and cut a path through to the backyard. Then I dug a couple ten foot swaths into the yard and linked it back to the steps off the deck. I moved the snow off the deck steps and carved out a few paths on the deck. That should last at least a day. I think.

We’ve had a remarkably mild fall. This was the first serious storm and according to all the predictions we’re going to get smacked upside the head again and again. And I will go out again and again, carving dog paths in the back and front yards, clearing the way for legs too thin and too short to contend with the North Dakota winter. I will do this out of my Scandinavian-Midwestern sense of duty and I will do this because I love those two little bastards.

And the cats will sleep in their day beds and dream of spring.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

