2016 – The Year of the Tight Sphincter

freedom-is-in-peril

This wasn’t the best year. Too many deaths of famous people I loved and admired, health concerns on the home front, a dismal financial year, that fucking election, and my own failings at a number of things. It’s definitely one of those years I’m going to look back on with more regret than relish.

But as always Carjo and I are committed to try to make 2017 a bit better. Focus is always a problem for both of us, partially due to our age but also just the way we’re wired. But in a way, there’s less in the way these days. I guess that’s one thing for a simple rural lifestyle. We don’t have much but we have each others backs. And so we move on.

I’ve got some resolutions. None I want to blog about because they’re only the same things I’m always working on. Be a better husband, pet owner, friend, guitar player, writer, and so on and so on. Oh, and oppose Trump every fucking way I can. I can’t forget that one.

But I would really like to waste less time. I am hurtling towards Social Security age and every second seems a little more precious. I don’t like my time wasted and I don’t like myself when I discover I’ve been frittering away a chunk of time doing nothing. I gotta work on that.

New Year’s day is really just an abstract number. There is no tangible difference between the last days of 2016 and the first days of 2017. It’s just the method we used to differentiate the scale of time. But there is nothing like the feeling of turning over a new leaf, starting a with a fresh slate, or even the INTENTION of making a new start. It’s what we use to cast off what we don’t like about our lives and embrace what we want to do. Despite evidence that an overwhelming amount of NY resolutions fail, we do it again and again. And sometimes, against all odds, something sticks. We get something done, we take some pounds off, we finish that project, or just become a better person. Sometimes just the act of trying and failing makes us a better person.

So I believe in resolutions. That’s saying something because after this year with all its attendant frustrations and losses, it is hard to believe. But we have to believe. We have to make that step out the door, no matter what the odds. So don’t give up. Get out there. Make art. Exercise. Read a book. Love someone. Love a pet. Defy Trump. It’s all good. And 2017 might, just might, be a better year.

About jeroljohnson

I guess I'm the crying on the inside kind of clown
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2016 – The Year of the Tight Sphincter

  1. “Make art. Exercise. Read a book. Love someone. Love a pet. Defy Trump.” Concise and perfect. OK, so I’m going to add a little baseball in there on my list, but otherwise … perfect … and off I go to 2017.

Leave a Reply

